Tech-Savoy

No, the title is not a typo. Savoy, as defined by whatever dictionary app I have on my dashboard, is “a cabbage of a hardy variety with densely wrinkled leaves”. How does that make sense? It doesn’t, and that’s the damn point.

As I’m applying to master’s programs – aka a really really really expensive way to get back to the US and find me a low-paying job – I decided to try and figure out the job market in certain cities today. And ended up slamming my computer shut instead.

I feel like the original purpose of technology, at some point in the distant past, was to make life easier for people. Between advertisements (which happens to be the industry I’m looking into…except I hope to be a little better than what I experienced today) and pages that make you incessantly click, click, click ‘Next’ just to read four words, large parts of the internet have disintegrated into nothing but a large, thorn-like pain in the ass.

Okay so instead of looking for what I should have been looking for, I got a little off topic. Story of my (and pretty much everyone in this generation’s) life. I was promised “See what jobs are rapidly disappearing” and clicked on the link, and since I’m at a coffee shop with sketchy/dodgy/ratchet? I still don’t know what that word really means/[insert newest all-the-rage word here] wifi, I decided to skip the slideshow at the bottom of Huff Post’s page and instead clicked another “click here to See what jobs are rapidly disappearing“.

Now I’m on a different website with a whole of text and ANOTHER “Click here to see what jobs are rapidly disappearing“. You know what, screw you. I hope your job rapidly disappears whoever did this to me. But of course I’ve come so far. Click.

So I finally get to the promised list and of course it’s only 10-6, and has a lot of jobs I really didn’t know still existed. By the way, what the hell is a semiconductor processor? Apparently nothing to do with a train conductor (shout out to Thomas the Tank Engine!). So I have lost interest in jobs 5-1 and don’t click any further…but…

Also Read: The 10 Fastest-Growing Jobs in America“? How can I refuse. Click. Nooo! another page of text and “Click here to see the fastest-growing jobs”. Fine, click…

Image

AAAAH GO DEFILE YOURSELVES I QUIT. Do you really think I’m going to click your link?!?!

So, one hour later, I have no idea where to go to college, but I know what savoy cabbage looks like. Stupid technology.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a comment